The John Edward Kerry Prize

The Malone Society organizes a competition for graduate students to celebrate the life work of one of our members, the late John Edward Kerry (1924–2008).

Postgraduate students who are currently working on any aspect of early modern English drama and using our volumes as part of their research projects are warmly invited to submit a short statement (max. 500 words) to Professor Lucy Munro ( by 23 April 2024.

Those wishing to enter this competition should ensure that their statements explain how their work contributes to the development of scholarship in their fields and in what ways the Malone Society editions have facilitated and supported their research. Statements should also include applicants’ contact details and academic affiliation, the name of the programme of studies being attended and the year of registration, and the name and contacts details of a supervisor or of an academic referee willing to write on their behalf.

The winner of this competition will receive 30 Malone Society volumes and a year’s free membership, which for new members includes three complimentary volumes to be chosen from our backlist together with our current volume.

Previous winners include Vivienne Belton (University of Glasgow), Anouska Lester (Roehampton University), Matthew Blaiden (University of Leeds), Shani Bans (University College London), Gabriella Edelstein (University of Sydney), Régis Augustus Bars Closel (Universidade de São Paulo, Brasil), Amy Lidster (King’s College London), John Kuhn (Columbia University), Amy Bowles (University College London) and Matthew Kubus (Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham).

Applicants may also be interested in other Malone Society Fellowships and Research Grants. Further details are here. Please note that holders of these fellowships and bursaries will not be considered for this Prize.